Treats from Honeybuns Bakery

In December I decided to treat myself and ordered some gluten free sweet treats from Honeybuns Bakery. I had never been on the website before and had only tried a couple of cakes when I had been in Norfolk, from Wells beach cafe and Holkham hall teashop. I was blown away, I don’t think I was expecting much as they initially looked like all other mass produced gluten free cakes available from supermarkets etc. How wrong was I! They were very different and tasted very homemade. Not normally easily pleased with bought cakes as I enjoy making gluten free cakes myself and am a tough critic.

I found the website and greedily looked through the many options. I initially really wanted the tin box but then decided I could sample far more if I just made an order of a big selection of Honeybuns minis etc. Ordering was straightforward just choosing which ones to try was more difficult. I decided to choose an order date one week before Christmas. I thought this was a great option. Hadn’t expected to have been able to be so precise on the date.

They arrived actually one day before the delivery date although this didn’t matter. I was thrilled when the little box arrived. I’d not had any sugary treats for over 10 weeks, as I have been on a healthy healing plan removing sugar, caffeine and alcohol from my diet. So I was really beyond excited!

Image

It was like Christmas had come early, I couldn’t wait to try some of these mini cakes. Perfect size for me, a tiny sweet treat without going mad.

Image

All arrived safely no damage, I think possibly the only thing I was a little disappointed by was the size of the tray bake. Due to the price, I had expected something bigger.

I was very controlled and kept some in the box and put half in the freezer. Looking carefully at the dates as some had a longer shelf life than others.Image

Such a choice, where to start?

Firstly I tried the mini Coppice cake. Beautiful light sponge with dark chocolate taste sensations with little cranberry gems of sweetness. Have to admit it tasted better than any cake I had ever made. 10\10 

Next I tried the Almond moon mini. Pleasantly not too sweet with a biscuit base and little cranberry pieces.Image

A very good 9\10

The next one I tried was the Heathcliffe Brownie, not being a huge brownie fan. I was very interested to see what I thought of this. A good brownie with large pieces of dark chocolate inside which I loved. 8/10

Snowy hills, now this was the first cake I had ever tried from Honeybuns bakery when I was in Norfolk, so I knew this was going to be good. Opening the lovely packaging you are hit by a delicious lemony aroma, with a gentle lemon and ginger taste. I would love to find this in my lunch box! Such a perfect size, great for children too.

Image

Now to the Chocolate caramel shortbread, wow what a treat! Chunky thick layer of chocolate and thick layer of biscuit reminded me of a thick Hobnob from my days before being gluten free. With the extra joy of a layer of caramel. Delicious 9/10

Image

The family enjoyed the Snowy hills tray bake and husband sampled the Cranberry and Pecan flapjack something I couldn’t try as the flapjacks are not gluten free at the moment. I think I remember reading that they are in the process of making gluten free flapjacks. That will be amazing!

It was interesting to freeze half the supply, I can confirm that they tasted just as good after being frozen and defrosted very quickly.

All in all, a very successful buy from Honeybuns Bakery. Have never before found cakes that taste so homemade, just perfect as a treat. I definitely will be ordering from them again and visiting stockists in Norfolk. Although perhaps dangerous to order too many even when I store some in the freezer, they are way to addictive!

3 thoughts on “Treats from Honeybuns Bakery

Leave a Reply

