Wow! muffins

Based in Wymondham, just outside Norwich WOWmuffins are a small gluten free business. Making the most amazing sweet and savoury muffins, many are dairy free too. Selling at farmers markets in East Anglia and available to order online.

I first met Karen a few months back at Creake abbey farmers market near Burnham Market, Norfolk. I literally went Wow! when I saw her stall.

Image

The stall was easy to spot with a big sign saying “muffins for everyone” and bright red gazebo. With a huge array of the most delicious looking gluten free goodies, I was a very happy lady!

I have never been a big fan of supermarket muffins as they always seem to me to be quite heavy in texture. But WOW muffins are quite different. Freshly made, they have a short shelf life, like all homemade bakery goods. But they freeze well on day of purchase. Or you can eat them immediately like I do.

Image

‘Muffinettes’

Light and airy in texture and available in two sizes regular and muffinettes, half the size and perfect if you are trying to be good or can’t decide which flavour to buy. They are also a lovely size for children, and would be great for a birthday party.

ImageA selection of sweet and savoury muffins from this weeks visit to the farmers market.

 

Even more exciting than the sweet muffins, I think are the savoury ones. Sausage, sun-dried tomato and paprika. which has a real kick to it. Feta, basil and sun-dried tomato my favourite, The feta cheese works perfectly. I really could eat a large amount of these!  Also bacon and cheddar and red onion ones which look amazing but am unable to try as I am intolerant to onions. But I would love the combination of bacon and cheese.

Image

 

Perfect as part of gluten free lunch.

 

The muffins are best eaten warmed for about 30 seconds in the microwave maybe slightly less. I think I over warmed my banana fudge muffin yesterday and the fudge centre had virtually disappeared. still very yummy though. I had mine with a big cup of tea for pudding. But they would be perfect for breakfast, I have a blueberry one lined up for breakfast today.

 

 

Karen has a good knowledge of all things gluten free as she herself is wheat intolerant and has friends who have Coeliac disease. 

I urge you to go online today and have a look at the website. Or if you are up in East Anglia seek them out at your nearest farmers market.

Creake Abbey farmers market, North Creake, Fakenham

Wymondham farmers market, market place Wymondham

Mildenhall  farmers market, jubilee centre . near Bury St Edmunds

You can also follow WOWmuffins on twitter @wowmuffins and on facebook

I think it is really important to support our local small businesses, especially when they produce gluten free produce.

April 2014

Unfortunately Wow Muffins has ceased trading, hopefully one day soon they will be baking again. Will blog about it when they are up and running again

 

 

One thought on “Wow! muffins

Leave a Reply

