Homemade Granola, oat free and gluten free

As my gluten free granola has been so popular , I thought I would try to make an oat free version as many Coeliac’s cannot tolerate any form of oats.

Pre heat oven to 180c

Firstly I used the food processor to coarsely chop up all the nuts . I added almonds, hazelnuts , pecans, and brazil nuts 100 grams of each. Then I added 100 grams of desiccated coconut and 50g of roughly chopped pumpkin seeds and 50g of roughly chopped  sunflower seeds using the food processor. These can be left whole if you prefer.

Image

Then I melted 150 ml of maple syrup and or honey, Agave syrup can also be used. To this I added melted coconut oil approximately 50 ml but you can add more if you prefer. Coconut oil is great, as its a healthy oil.

Image

Stir into dry ingredients until all is well coated, and spread onto two greased baking trays.

Image

Cook in pre heated oven for 7 mins then mix around to make sure all the granola changes to a golden brown colour. Pop back in the oven for a further 7 mins.

Image

Cool, and store in air tight container. I always label mine gluten free and put a date on too. Will keep fresh for a month. But it never lasts that long!

Delicious served with full fat greek yoghurt and fresh berries. Good with gluten free ice cream too.

Image

hope you enjoy!

Recently I have made this granola using more coconut oil about 100ml, you could use even more as it is a good healthy fat. Then I used less maple syrup about 100ml as I am trying to avoid using too much sugar.

10 thoughts on “Homemade Granola, oat free and gluten free

  1. Pingback: Bread to Bread: Granola | gluten free b

  2. Pingback: sugar free, gluten free Granola | Fabulously Free From

  3. Hi there I was wondering if you would have any ideas of a substitute for the coconut oil as anything coconut is no good for me. I really like the sound of this granola

    • You could try 2 tbsp of almond butter and a couple of over ripe bananas mash together. Have seen a recipe where they use this, might be worth a try.Or just try replacing coconut oil with olive oil. would love to know if you give it a try

  4. I made this tonight and it’s wonderful! I did not use any maple syrup or honey. I used olive oil in place of the coconut oil. This is amazing granola! Thank you for the recipe!!

  5. Pingback: Gluten free and low sugar breakfast ideas | Fabulously Free From

  6. I think I may not have used enough coconut oil.. my granola was still quite loose after I took it out of the oven. Is this the right texture or should I add more liquid?

Leave a Reply

