gluten free cake at Back to the Garden

ImageToday I decided to explore a little more of Norfolk, I had heard via Twitter about a Farm shop and restaurant near Holt.

Back to the Garden is in Letheringsett North Norfolk on the Fakenham road. Very easy to find.

Image

ImageThe Barn Cafe and Restaurant were very nice, set in a renovated threshing barn.

I loved the photographs on the walls, the restaurant felt very new. As well as the beautiful barn the restaurant and cafe also has a lovely garden where you can eat alfresco. A lovely sun trap too.

ImageI was excited to see what choices there would be for Coeliacs and gluten intolerant customers. I was pleased to see two choices of cakes. A orange and almond polenta cake and a lemon cake. I chose the lemon cake and a English breakfast tea. I would have preferred a caffeine free tea or camomile tea but neither was available. I wished I’d had more time to have a meal but will definitely return with the family to try it very soon.

ImageThe lemon gluten free cake was absolutely delicious and had a sharp lemon and sugary taste. A lovely treat!

I was pleased to see that the gluten free cakes were covered with glass display lids and that my waitress used a new separate knife to cut my cake slice.

Image

Next to the Barn restaurant is the amazing Farm shop possibly the best farm shop I have seen. Great to see so much local produce, organic vegetables, organic meat including gluten free sausages and beef burgers made on site by the farm shop’s butchers, who had good knowledge of cross contamination. There is also a Deli well stocked with wines and cheese. Brays cottage famous Pork pies and fresh bread for gluten eaters , and gluten free Muffins and cakes from Wow muffins, definitely worth trying.

Image

Image

ImageI will be returning to this farm shop and restaurant very soon. Definitely worth the drive!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “gluten free cake at Back to the Garden

Leave a Reply

