Gluten and Dairy free, raspberry bakewell cake

I have been wanting to make a cake for a while using coconut oil and only a small amount of sugar. Lucy bee coconut oil kindly gave me one of there favourite recipes to try.

A raspberry bakewell cake which sounded delicious and was gluten and dairy free.

As soon as my coconut oil arrived from Natures health box I started baking.

IMG_7243

Image

I pre heated my fan oven to 160c and measured out my ingredients. Coconut oil, eggs, caster sugar, gluten free SR flour ( I use Doves ) ground almonds and flaked almonds and fresh raspberries.

Link to @lucybeecoconut and the Raspberry bakewell cake recipe here

Image

It was so simple I just had to combine all the ingredients and mix well.

Image

Make sure you melt the coconut oil before adding, I used the microwave about 20 seconds.

Image

When mixed well I spooned half the mixture into the bottom of my loose bottomed cake tin, then I added the raspberries and a final layer of cake mixture. Not easy , I had to use my fingers to spread it out as the mixture is very thick.

Image

Then I popped it in the hot oven for 50mins until golden brown.

Image

Using a loose bottom tin really helped, the cake came out with no problems.

Image

I added just a dusting of icing sugar on the top.

Image

I totalled up the cost of the cake, around £6.50. Not to bad considering the local free range eggs, fair trade organic raw coconut oil, and local raspberries

Organic raw Coconut oil is a good healthy oil, as opposed to things like vegetable oil and is much better for us. Hence why I wanted to start baking with it. I already use it in my Granola recipes and cook with it all the time. From scrambled eggs to roast sweet potato wedges which are delicious.

The Raspberry bakewell cake was a great success

Image

The cake rose far more than I expected and had quite a dense texture more like a pudding, we served ours with clotted cream but think it would work better with double cream or custard. The cake would serve between 8-10.

Image

Thanks @Lucybeecoconut for the recipe. Very delicious!

Leave a Reply

