Homemade gluten free Bakewell Tart

It’s Tuesday so it must be baking day! It’s The Great British Bake off again tonight and the programme can’t be watched without having something to munch, preferably baked goods.

IMG_7713

Today I thought I would have a go at a bakewell tart as i’ve never made one before.

I used a Doves flour recipe available here.  But used just slightly less jam.

Image

Firstly I made some short crust pastry 100g Doves farm plain flour and 50g unsalted butter.

Image

I chilled the pastry for 15mins before rolling out between cling film.

Image

It doesn’t have to be perfect. Then I spread raspberry jam across the base.

Image

Next I whisked the eggs and sugar together until fluffy, I added a little almond essence. Then added the ground almonds and gluten free self raising flour.

Image

and poured the mixture into the pie dish. Finally sprinkling flaked almonds on top.

Bake for 35 mins until golden.

Image

I served mine with clotted cream but custard would be great too.

Image

Really simple to make. Tasted delicious and not too sweet.

Happy Baking!

3 thoughts on “Homemade gluten free Bakewell Tart

  1. Pingback: Pastry week tonight on Great British Bake Off | Fabulously Free From

Leave a Reply

