gluten free Orgran puff pastry Chicken pie

Tonight is ‘Pie night’ on The Great British Bake Off . So rather than making something sweet again I decided to make a Chicken pie using a gluten free Pastry Mix from Orgran which is stocked by online company Natures Health Box

Image

This pastry can be used to make short crust or puff pastry. As I haven’t tasted puff pastry for a long time I thought I would have a go at making it.

The instructions are quite complex and making the pastry is not a quick thing, but well worth it in the end.

Image

I didn’t find it easy to bring the dough together so added a little more water.

Image

I rolled the butter out between to pieces of grease proof paper.

Image

Then added the butter to the pastry covering 2/3rds of the pastry.

Image

after folding and rolling the pastry it goes in the fridge to chill for 10 mins. this is repeated 6 times.

While the pastry was chilling I made the chicken filling. I chose to cook a chicken first then use the meat for the pie. I added courgette and bacon and made a béchamel sauce to which I added freshly made chicken stock.

Image

I rolled out the pastry and sat in on top of the pie.

Image

Brushed pie with egg and popped in a hot over 180c for approximately 45mins.

Image

I am very pleased with how the pie has turned out. Would definitely buy this Orgran Pastry mix from Natures health box again.

Happy baking!

Disclaimer- This is an unpaid review, I was sent this product to try and I have chosen to review it.

2 thoughts on “gluten free Orgran puff pastry Chicken pie

  1. Pingback: Pastry week tonight on Great British Bake Off | Fabulously Free From

Leave a Reply

