My review of WOW bakes gluten free cakes

I was thrilled to be asked by Karen to review her Wow bakes cakes recently.

I regularly buy @wowmuffins Savoury and sweet muffins from the @creakeabbey farmers market in Norfolk so was very keen to taste the gluten free cakes. Unfortunately these delicious cakes are not yet available at Creake Abbey farmers market. But are available from Back to the garden in Letheringsett North Norfolk.

Image

I was able to try 4 of the 5 gorgeous cakes available from WOW bakes

Image

Fruity apple cake – is also dairy free, a lovely moist cake due to the goodly amount of apple inside. Quite crumbly, the family liked it best with a dollop of double cream. Gluten loving friends gave it a thumbs up too, saying they would never have known it was gluten free. I gave this cake a 8/10 Could definitely be used as a pudding too.

Image

Image

Belgian Chocolate cake – what can I say!  We were all very impressed with this cake. Rich and delicious reminded us a little of a chocolate torte. I loved the chocolate coating all over the cake. Very decadent. Glad to see butter used in this recipe.  A big favourite with family and friends. I awarded this cake 10/10 and would definitely buy it for a special occasion.

Image

Image

Carrot cake – this cake is dairy free too. I am a fan of carrot cake and this one is very good and very light. A very moist cake too  and not overly sweet. A definite 9/10 .

Would definitely buy this one if I had guests coming for tea.

Image

Image

Sticky Ginger cake – Not normally a Ginger cake fan, I was surprised how much I liked this cake. I would buy it again as it was especially nice with a cup of tea and again not overly sweet. Also think it would work well with custard as it was on the slightly dry side. I would still give this cake an 8/10

Image

WOW muffins & bakes are a Norfolk company and the cakes are available at local farmers markets, shows and local cafes in East Anglia.

Twitter – @wowmuffins

Cafe’s – @back_togarden

Check out there website here wow muffins.com

Leave a Reply

