Baking gluten free cookies

Today is The Great British Bake Off and as it’s biscuit week I thought I would make some gluten free cookies.

I decided to firstly make Ginger cookies from a recipe in The Gluten free baker by Hannah Miles. This book is fab, lots of recipes for cakes, cookies, bread and pastry. I can definitely recommend.

Hannah also has a Savoury version of this book called The Savoury gluten free baker.

You need

160g Gluten free self raising flour

1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

180g ground almonds

180g caster sugar. I cut this down to 100g and found them sweet enough

2 teaspoons ground ginger

grated zest of 2 limes

125g butter

6 pieces of stem ginger in syrup finely chopped plus 3 tbsp of the ginger syrup

Image

I started with the dry ingredients, then added the melted butter and syrup from the stem ginger.

I then stirred in the stem ginger finely chopped.

Image

Image

The oven needs to be preheated to 180c and you need 2 baking trays greased and lined.

The cookies tend to spread, so I left plenty of space around each one.

The cookies went in the oven for 12 mins then I left them on the trays to cool for a while.

Image

Then moved to a wire rack.

Image

I was very impressed with these cookies. Crunchy and chewy inside. Perfect!

Image

So very easy to make.

Next I decided to take inspiration from The Gluten free Almond flour cookbook by Elana Amsterdam  to invent my own cookie.

A dark chocolate and cherry cookie

You need

100g gluten free self raising flour

110g almond flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

100g butter or coconut oil melted

100g agave nectar

1 tbsp vanilla extract

85g dark chocolate gluten free, Finely chopped

10g cocoa powder gluten free

handful of chopped glace cherries

I firstly mixed all the dry ingredients together

Then added the butter, agave and vanilla extract.

finely the chocolate finely chopped and the cherries.

Image

Image

Image

pre heated oven at 180c .

I used a tablespoon to put the mixture on to the baking tray leaving plenty of space and flattening  slightly with the palm of  my hand. Then I popped them in the oven for 15 mins or until the cookies look dry on top and start to crack.

I left these on the baking sheets to cool before moving to the wire rack.

Image

These cookies turned out  softer inside with a crunchy outside. I might try baking them for a little longer when I make them next time.

These biscuits are not overly sweet as I used dark chocolate.

Image

Why not have a go at inventing your own cookie or biscuit. I’m very pleased with mine.

Happy Gluten free Baking!

2 thoughts on “Baking gluten free cookies

Leave a Reply

