Review of this months gluten free Crate of Nothing

In February there was a buzz on twitter regarding a new company called Crate of Nothing I unfortunately had some how missed out on this. The tweets were all about boxes of gluten free and dairy free goodies arriving to homes all around the country. I was intrigued! Photos of new gluten free products, baked goods and a chocolate brownies recipe filled my feed. I really felt left out.

I didn’t make the same mistake this month, I ordered early and was delighted at the beginning of the month to receive my Crate of Nothing. I did have a little chuckle to myself when the delivery driver arrived at the door. The crate was smaller than I expected but parcels are always lovely to receive. I hurried to the kitchen to open my crate.

I was thrilled to see my box crammed with gluten free goodies almost all were new to me, how fabulous!

here is a picture of the contents of my Emma box ( each month, I think must have a different name, very sweet )

Image

After a few comments last month more savoury products had been included, A great idea I think. I’m sure Crate of nothing will value any constructive comment as this is a new company trying to offer something quite different from anything on the market for people living gluten free and dairy free options too. I think the crate will be particularly invaluable if you live in an area where gluten free products are still hard to come buy. Also as a way to be introduced to new products coming onto the market. Or maybe just a lovely treat to yourself.

Image

Emma’s box included

Chilli con carne from look what we found – I have had these pouch meals from this company before and they are very good. this came with a pouch of rice. Lovely meal for 2 or 1 very hungry person! great for camping holidays or last minute suppers.

Image

Fiery worchester sauce and sundried tomato popcorn by Propercorn –  A family favourite. We all just felt that the packets had very little in them .

Image

Mini harvest apple loaf by Melsie jane Bakes – tasty with a nice apple flavour

Image

Banana sugar green bites by inspiral –  Well, all the family tried these, sadly no one liked them. Unfortunately we felt they were much like polystyrene. Disappointing.

Image

Strawberry and chocolate bar by Frank* – I wasn’t expecting to like this bar but actually it was quite pleasant. A dark chocolate and strawberry flavour, great to keep in your bag for that emergency snack!

Image

Plum and cinnamon frangipane tart by Christine’s puddings –  tiny but nice, not to sweet. being so small obviously meant more pastry than filling. Would be extra nice if they were slightly bigger. I would like to see these in coffee shops, as a lower sugar option to the bakewell tarts and chocolate brownies.

Image

Mega omega superseeds by Punch foods – A tube of savoury seeds to add to salads etc very nice

Image

Date and oat slice by Wheat free kitchen –  Sadly this arrived looking bumped about, but I wasn’t going to let that put me off a sweet treat. I wasn’t sure quite how to eat it. The slice was very crumbly and just fell apart. I spooned it out into a bowl in the end. I found it dry and unappealing. Possibly if served with custard or cream it might be ok. I certainly wouldn’t buy it again.

Image

Muesli with goji berries and cranberry by Alara – A small bag of muesli very tasty

Image

Recipe for Breadsticks by Mel @piginthekitchen – Finally the brown bag full of ingredients to make gluten free breadsticks the most exciting part of Emma’s box for me, as I love to bake. I found the method easy to follow but would have liked a picture of the finished product to know what they were expected to look like. Anyway they were a triumph! the family loved them and were gobbled up immediately. Unfortunately I am intolerant to yeast so was unable to test them, they looked divine and most had a good snap i’m told. I really like the idea of including a recipe.

the ingredients –

Image

my first attempt at piping breadsticks

Image

The finished breadsticks –

Image

How Crate of Nothing works –

You can order a one off box for £22.50 or a monthly subscription of £20, they are sent out to you on the first of the month.

special Easter box needs to be ordered by March 26th

pop to their website for 33% of your first subscription order Crate of Nothing

I am glad I ordered my first Crate of Nothing I think for anyone with gluten intolerance, Coeliac disease, dairy intolerance they are a brilliant idea. If like me you have multiple intolerances then it doesn’t work so well and I wouldn’t expect it too. It would make it too complicated at the moment I’m sure to start doing yeast free, oat free etc. Maybe that will come in the future. Here’s hoping! I wish Crate of Nothing all the best with there venture. Why not give it a try and see what you think? Would love to hear your reviews too!

Leave a Reply

