My review of Rizopia organic brown rice pasta

Recently I was sent some new gluten free brown rice pasta to review,  Rizopia was Winner of a Free From award 2013 for gluten free pasta, I was keen to try it.

The pasta is free from Gluten, Wheat, Egg, Milk, Corn and Nuts an impressive start!

I was sent a variety of pastas including Lasagne. Penne, Fettuccine,

Shaped pasta for children called Fantasia (with fun shapes like fish, hearts, bicycles, footballs )

IMG_1645

 

Spaghetti and Elbow ( macaroni )

IMG_1644

Gluten free Pasta has always been a favourite in my house  but recently due to the fact that I am trying to live grain free I had rather forgotten to buy it for the family. They were very happy to have it back on the menu.

First we tried the Fusilli, they were very impressed. We liked the texture and flavour. This pasta does need a good rinse with boiling water when drained, because it is made from rice and was quite starchy.

Image

 

I served with a savoury mince sauce covered in grated cheese

Image

 

Next we tried the Penne, I decided to make my men folk a pasta bake using a homemade bolognese sauce.

IMG_1623

This was a winner with my family

IMG_1629

 

If these two pasta’s are anything to go by the family will love all of the varieties of pasta from Rizopia.

I am looking forward to making some macaroni cheese using the Elbow pasta

IMG_1642

 

Rizopia is produced in Toronto in Canada and is currently available to buy from Ocado and Amazon RRP £3.99 for 500g

Here is Rizopia website

follow on Twitter here @rizopia 

and Facebook Rizopia

This Pasta is available to registered Coeliacs on the NHS

Recipe ideas from Rizopia here

Leave a Reply

