Blueberry and coconut slices

I have Deb from an Aussie with Crohns to thank for this delicious recipe. Her recipe is specific carbohydrate diet friendly and grain free, so perfect for coeliacs and those who are intolerant to gluten.

Image

A biscuit type base and a golden coconut topping, sandwiched together by a berry jam cut into squares. I chose to make a blueberry jam, again a recipe from @anaussiew

Image

Firstly I made homemade blueberry jam using this recipe

Image

Image

 

I was really pleased with the jam, surprisingly sweet.

I combined the ground almonds and coconut flour

Image

then added the beaten egg ,coconut oil and honey and mixed together

Image

I tipped the mixture into a lined 8inch square tin

Image

and pressed it down.

this went in the oven for 5 mins

While it was in the oven I made the topping

combining desiccated coconut honey and egg.

Image

I spread a layer of the sugar free jam over the newly baked base

Image

then added the coconut topping and baked for a further 25 mins

Image

It was very tough leaving it to cool as it looked delicious.

Finally it was completely cooled and I moved it onto a cutting board and sliced into squares

Image

The berry and coconut slices stayed together quite well, I was impressed!

A very pretty treat, perfect for afternoon tea.

Image

With just a small amount of honey this treat is really quite low sugar. Perfect for a special occasion.

Here is the recipe for Berry and Coconut slices from anaussiewithcrohns , I hope you enjoy them as much as we have.

Image

Check out the other  SCD and Paleo recipes from anaussiewithcrohns.com 

One thought on “Blueberry and coconut slices

  1. Yummy! I used to make this for my son (SCD) when he lived at home, I just converted an old recipe! It was one of his favourite treats! I used an almond flour pastry base though.

    It looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

