My review of Hemsley + Hemsley The art of eating well

Recently I treated myself to a new recipe book, The art of eating well by Jasmine and Melissa Hemsley. I am constantly looking for healthy recipes that are gluten free and low sugar. This recipe book has additional information on healthy eating with tips on what to stock in your kitchen. I am excited to try out as many of the 150 recipes as I can. The photographs are enticing and the recipes are clear and easy to follow.

IMG_3322

The first recipe I tried was the Baked Broccoli fritters with a spicy avocado dip, I halved the recipe.

IMG_3256

I decided to use a food processor but you can grate the broccoli

IMG_3257

IMG_3260

adding parmesan cheese and ground almonds etc

IMG_3262

They looked really lovely, I was pleased with how they turned out.

IMG_3266

I was impressed with the baked result and was excited to try them with the fresh avocado dip

IMG_3271

They tested good and would make a great starter, they have a strong flavour but not unpleasant.

Next I tested out the Sticky toffee pudding recipe. I had extra guests for dinner and thought this would make a perfect pudding.

IMG_3286

The recipe was easy to follow and the entire pudding is made in a food processor. Completely grain free and containing no refined sugar this was a perfect recipe for me.

IMG_3290

It smelt amazing and tasted even better, especially covered in the sticky toffee style sauce.

IMG_3295

The pudding was light and not overly sweet. Very different from a classic sticky toffee pudding that is so very sweet it sets your teeth on edge.

IMG_3297

I can recommend this pudding which serves 10 and tastes just as good warmed the following day. My only comment would be that I found that there wasn’t enough sauce ,so I made a second batch.

When I made the recipe I blended the softened dates in with the pudding mixture rather than stirring them in at the end. This made for a smoother pudding with no pieces of date which I prefer.

Finally today I made the Chocolate brownie recipe. Made using black beans I was rather intrigued to see how these would taste. Again these were made in my food processor.

IMG_3315

IMG_3316

an interesting collection of ingredients!

IMG_3319

 

Very pleased with the result. I could hardly wait for it to bake.

IMG_3321

I am thrilled to be able to eat a chocolate brownie and not feel too guilty. It was tough waiting for the chocolate brownies to cool completely.

IMG_3323

the brownies were a little tricky to get out in one piece. But oh my they tasted wonderful. Again not overly sweet but definitely sweet enough, very indulgent.

I can recommend this healthy recipe book. If you are looking for gluten free healthy options that taste delicious this book would be worth adding to your collection.

The Hardback recipe book cost me £12 on Amazon

Follow Hemsley and Hemsley on Twitter

Facebook

website HemsleyandHemsley.com

 

2 thoughts on “My review of Hemsley + Hemsley The art of eating well

  1. Pingback: The new Healthy Living Zone and much much more at The Big Feastival | Fabulously Free From

  2. Pingback: Review of Flaxseed buns from Hemsley & Hemsleys new book | Fabulously Free From

Leave a Reply

