Banana, date and walnut bread

This fab recipe from An Aussie with Crohns is dairy free, grain free and yeast free. A perfect recipe for me, being gluten and yeast intolerant . I’m rarely able to enjoy fresh homemade bread .

Tonight is Great British bake off and it is almost impossible to watch without some kind of homemade baked goodies. Or maybe its just me!

Its more fancy bread and doughnut making on Bake off today. Really tough to watch when you are gluten and yeast intolerant.

I’m glad I’ve got a large slice of  grain free banana, date and walnut cake to eat along with the show!

Banana, date and walnut bread

IMG_3449

recipe here 

Firstly I chopped dates and walnuts together in my food processor

IMG_3423

I put ground almonds and coconut flour in a bowl and added bicarbonate of soda and mixed spice.

IMG_3428

I melted the coconut oil and honey ( I used 1/4 cup of honey ) and added to the flour

The small banana’s and eggs were whisked together using a hand blender

IMG_3429

and finally I added the chopped walnuts and dates to the bread mix.

IMG_3432

I prepared a brownie tin rather than a bread tin and spooned in the bread mix.

IMG_3435

The bread baked at 160c for about 37 mins, keep checking incase it burns.

My breads smelt delicious

IMG_3437

I have to try and hold off eating the entire loaf before The Great British Bake Off tonight!

IMG_3444

The bread has a lovely flavour. I particularly like the addition of dates to the mix. It has a nice sweet taste and is definitely the best grain free  banana bread I’ve made.

Family has given it a big thumbs up and agreed its the best so far.

Do take a look at An Aussie with Crohns website, lots of delicious recipes.

IMG_3442

 

 

Leave a Reply

