isabel’s gluten free sponge mix

Recently I purchased a new savarin cake tin obviously the only thing on my mind was to bake myself a cherry cake as soon as possible in the style of Mary Berry on Bake Off.

 

IMG_3860

I thought this was a perfect opportunity to try out @isabelsfreefrom sponge cake mix. I bought the mix at the Allergy and Free From show in London  All I needed to add was cherries, butter and sugar ( I used a small amount of dextrose ) You can use a dairy free spread if you have a dairy intolerance.

IMG_3847

 

The instructions were simple and the sponge and added cherries were soon in the savarin tin ready for the oven.

IMG_3851

IMG_3853

 

The mix had a strong vanilla smell when I opened the packet and I did wonder whether the family would like this in the cake. It definitely was a love, hate thing. Some really liked the vanilla flavour while others only tried a small slice commenting on the taste.

I thought the cake had a nice light texture and was very delicious. A real treat ,I found this cherry cake quite sweet as I never normally have icing sugar.

IMG_3856

I was pleased with the results of the icing, I think I will make a similar cake at Christmas at it was a lovely centre piece.

 

IMG_3858

You can buy isabel’s sponge cake mix from Simply free  <click here sponge mix is currently for £1.99

check out the website here isabelsfreefrom.co.uk

Isabel’s sponge cake mix

 

IMG_3867

Lots more mixes available from isabel’s free from including dough balls, pizza mix and baking fix etc from Amazon, Ocado, Simply free

2 thoughts on “isabel’s gluten free sponge mix

Leave a Reply

