Homemade Panettone using a grain free Ugg Foods mix

Looking through my pantry yesterday I spotted a new bread mix that I hadn’t tried before from UGG Foods, Chia Seed and Nut bread mix.

 

IMG_4182

It has clear instructions on the reverse of the packaging and lists other ingredients needed to make the bread. What I had missed when I bought the bread mix originally was that it required  vinegar which unfortunately I am intolerant to. Not to be put off I decided to look at the other recipe ideas UGG Foods has suggested to make with this mix. I was pleased to see a recipe for Panettone which used the added ingredients of raisins, dark chocolate chips, nut milk etc to make a rich semi sweet bread.

 

IMG_4189

Panettone 

1  chia seed and nut bread mix from UGG Foods

Inspired by the UGG Foods recipe idea I then added –

6 eggs

1 1/2 cups of unsweetend almond milk ( about 250mls )

3 tbsp vanilla essence

4 tbsp coconut oil melted

1/2 cup raisins and cranberries

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips ( I used taste the difference 70% dark choc chips from Sainsburys gluten free )

4 tbsp maple syrup

Click here for the UGG Foods Panettone recipe

all set!

all set!

 

I used lucy bee coconut oil

I used lucy bee coconut oil

 

I mixed all the wet ingredients

I mixed all the wet ingredients

and whisked the egg whites

I added to the bread mix

I added to the bread mix

 

I stirred in the egg whites

I stirred in the egg whites

 

I added raisins, cranberries and chocolate chips

I added raisins, cranberries and chocolate chips

 

I used a greased ring tin

I used a greased ring tin ring tin then check after 45mins

Bake for 40-45 mins if using a ring tin . slightly longer for a regular loaf tin.

I cooled before removing from the tin

I cooled before removing from the tin

After tasting the panettone when it was baked , I think when I make this for Christmas I will add more raisins and cranberries and maybe add a good quality mixed peel to the bake.

 

tiny chocolate, raisin and cranberry jewels

tiny chocolate, raisin and cranberry jewels

The Panettone was lighter in texture than I expected and had risen really well. My version was not very sweet, but you then have the option to add a low sugar jam if preferred. There is a good vanilla flavour and the dried fruit looks like little jewels in the bread very pretty and perfect for Christmas.

Due to being gluten and yeast free I have never been able to have a slice of panettone before. This recipe is also grain free using ground almonds and seeds. This would be a good substitute for a croissant or pain au chocolat for a continental breakfast for those like me who are yeast free. I was really impressed how good this tasted .

It’s not a cheap option but I imagine Panettone is always quite expensive to make.

For Christmas breakfasts or a slice with a hot drink mid morning would be perfect.

 

IMG_4194

 

the recipe also works well adding cherries

UGG Foods make a range of mix’s from muffins to bread which are all grain free. Check out the website here > UGGFoods.com

lots of exciting recipes to inspire you too check here> UGG Foods

The Chia seed and nut bread mix was a Winner at the Free From Food Awards 2014 in the store cupboard category . 

I would love to see more stores stocking UGG Foods products, hopefully this would bring the price down. At present the mix’s are £6.95 each for a large bag

 

Happy Baking!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Homemade Panettone using a grain free Ugg Foods mix

  1. Pingback: The new Healthy Living Zone and much much more at The Big Feastival | Fabulously Free From

Leave a Reply

