My review of Deliciously Ella’s grain free mince pies

Ever since I watched Ella’s video with Waitrose for her mince pies I have been desperate to make them for myself. The recipe is now on Deliciously Ella’s blog You can click through here> Mince Pies Recipe 

This is how I got on …

IMG_4633

the mincemeat looked delicious even before it was cooked.

IMG_4640

the kitchen smelt of Christmas.

Then for the pastry

IMG_4634

the grain free pastry was nice and easy to make, but not a cheap recipe. Quite a greasy dough but rolled out ok.

IMG_4635

These were then baked blind

IMG_4642

I filled them with the delicious filling, cut small stars from the remaining dough and then popped them back in the oven.

IMG_4644

Do resist taking them out of the tin, let them cool completely.

IMG_4645

Then enjoy with a cup of tea or a mulled wine.

 

I found the recipe and video easy to follow, the ingredients are quite expensive but I managed to make 22 small mince pies . Ella made 12 larger ones. In my opinion they are well worth the cost. There is almost a chewiness to the pastry, very indulgent and the filling was scrumptious . I baked my second batch for slightly less time than was recommended as the first batch were a little dark in colour. Interestingly they didn’t taste burnt. My second batch were a better colour. No soggy bottoms just delicious pastry. The pastry holds together very well. Hard to believe that these mince pies do not contain any grains. Perfect if you are gluten intolerant or have Coeliac disease. The pies are also dairy free and refined sugar free, although definitely not sugar free as they contain a huge amount of dried fruit.

find more of Deliciously Ella’s recipes here DeliciouslyElla

2 thoughts on “My review of Deliciously Ella’s grain free mince pies

  1. I liked the way she used dates to hold the pastry together but the cost!!!! I also thought they looked burnt in the recipe on her site. I’ve used date paste before in sweet pastry but never used as many dates. I wonder if they would cook better without blind baking them first. When I make mince pies using almond flour pastry so long as I use a metal baking tin they cook beautifully, no soggy bottoms!

    Yours look delicious!!

  2. Pingback: Gluten free Christmas at Waitrose | Fabulously Free From

Leave a Reply

