My review of Against all Grain by Danielle Walker

I recently purchased Against the Grain, I am always on the look out for grain free ideas and Paleo recipes . This recipe book is huge with over 150 recipes from breakfast ideas to main meals and grain free bakes. Most ingredients are easy to obtain , Coconut aminos I think is the other ingredient so far that I haven’t come across before.

IMG_5219

 

IMG_5220

Recently I had ago at making the n’oatmeal raisin cookies these turned out to be extremely popular with the family and only lasted a day!

IMG_5182

The recipe was simple and easy to follow , the cookies were soft and chewy and very delicious

IMG_5179

IMG_5181

I also made the Banana mouse pancakes, These tasted just like pancakes I would expect to be served in the States with lashings of maple syrup. Really hard to believe they are both gluten and grain free!

IMG_5208

IMG_5209

IMG_5218

 

IMG_5215

There are ideas as alternatives to potato for instance mashed cauliflower and as an alternative to rice coconut – lime ‘rice’ using cauliflower .

 

Danielle Walker is the creator of a popular Paleo food blog. Having been diagnosed with an autoimmune disease at 22 ( Ulcerative Colitis ) and unable to alleviate her symptoms by conventional medicine  , Danielle removed grains, lactose, legumes, and refined sugar from her diet and has virtually eliminated all her ailments. Having Crohns disease myself I can completely identify with Danielle and try to eat grain free and cows milk free also avoiding refined sugar.

I purchased my copy of Against all grain from Amazon for £20.30 this is a soft back recipe book .

I look forward to trying out lots more of these recipes very soon.

You can follow Danielle @againstallgrain Twitter

AGAINSTALLGRAIN – Instagram

Againstallgrain.com – Website

 

 

4 thoughts on “My review of Against all Grain by Danielle Walker

  1. Wow those cookies look really good!! I’ve always been a little wary of the whole ‘paleo’ thing, mainly because it always sounds really complicated (the recipes always seem to contain ingredients I don’t have and/or have never heard of! I don’t own agave nectar or palm sugar, etc!) and many of the recipes I see aren’t suitable for vegetarians, but the cookies and the pancakes make it sound a lot less intimidating. Will look for this book next time I’m in Waterstones! Thanks!

  2. Pingback: One year on, living with Crohns disease | Fabulously Free From

Leave a Reply

