Gluten free at Big Church Day Out

On a sunny Saturday in May my sister and I packed up the car and took a drive down to Wiston house, a beautiful stately home in West Sussex for Big Church Day Out.

IMG_6632

Big Church Day Out is a gathering of Christians from around the UK and Europe. Now in its 7th year BCDO has coined the phrase ‘A celebration of all that is good’

IMG_6681

This was my first visit to BCDO and I would describe it as a music festival with Christian music from ever genre. An opportunity to hear the very best christian rock, folk, jazz , pop, classical, dance, soul, gospel reggae, singer song writers and worship bands from across the world. A number of big names from The States playing a big part in the weekend. click here for acts > BCDO ARTISTS

IMG_6630

IMG_6608

The festival is very much a family day with a fab marque area for Big Church Kids,and a soft play tent for the under 7’s. A Big Church fete on the stunning front lawn of Wiston house offered village fete fun.

 

IMG_6603

The avenue was the place to find delicious food. I was very pleased to see gluten free, vegetarian and vegan clearly marked in the programme. These stalls were listed as offering gluten free options- Tasty Thai, Jumping bean burrito, Woodburn Racletterie , Goodness gracious, Healthy foods and Goan fish curry. There was also gluten free biscuits available in the tea tent. Next year I would really like to see a 100% gluten free food stall including some dairy free options.

 

IMG_6604

 

IMG_6602

I choose to pack a gluten free picnic for BCDO there was plenty of places to sit and enjoy your own food.

IMG_6611

Make sure to take a big blanket to sit and listen to the varied music acts. With a choice of the Main stage, Illuminate stage and on ( what looked like ) the croquet lawn by the Tear fund tea tent  surrounded by the beautiful gardens of Wiston house.

IMG_6598

There was plenty of places to find something to drink, coffee stalls and the tea tent along with a Pimm’s tent and an Ale tent. At the Tear fund Tea tent there was soya milk as a dairy alternative. I would love to see almond milk available next year. Plenty of water and juices available too.

 

IMG_6618

I packed boiled eggs, sliced peppers, tomatoes and celery. homemade gluten free cheese scones and cold meats along with some gluten free crisps from Seabrooks and a large bar of Green & Blacks dark chocolate. The day was sunny and warm and a picnic was the perfect choice for my sister and I.

IMG_6609

 

The highlights for me on Saturday were Martin Smith both his set at the Tear fund tent and on the main stage , The Abrams brothers and NeedtoBreathe.

 

IMG_6646

I returned on Sunday and my highlights were Switchfoot and Rend Collective.

 

IMG_6688

The site is not flat so be prepared for some walking. One particularly large hill leads up to the fete and the tea tent and church. Well worth the hike!

I must mention my fellow festival ‘Big Day Out’ goers, the friendliest happiest crowd I have ever had the pleasure of spending a weekend with. So much so, that on Sunday I went back the the festival on my own, not something I would do at any other festival. But I never felt alone, we danced and sang together and worshiped our Amazing God and it was fantastic!

 

IMG_6702

Big thanks to Tim Jupp and team for a wonderful weekend

I will certainly be back next year!

 

IMG_6710

Follow Big Church Day Out Twitter here > @bigchurchdayout

Website here >  bigchurchdayout.com

 

IMG_6590

Facebook > Big Church Day Out

 

IMG_6586

My top tip –  buy your tickets Early for the best price tickets. I paid £40 for an Adult weekend ticket. Super Early bird price was £36 for the entire weekend!

Watch  BCDO video 

IMG_6653

2 thoughts on “Gluten free at Big Church Day Out

  1. I’m really pleased you had such a good time. I’m afraid I’m an atheist, so it’s not really my sort of thing, but I can’t imagine going to a festival and feeling 100% safe, lol! You’re lucky the weather was so nice for it, and it’s great that you were so well catered for (again, can’t imagine that at any other festival, somehow!). And OMG, Switchfoot were there?!!!?! Dare You To Move is one of my favourite songs right now. You’re so lucky!! Still loving those wellies, by the way! ;0)

    Vikki Cook
    http://www.glutenfreebournemouth.com

Leave a Reply

