Grain free chocolate and fruit bread

This grain free and yeast free bread has to be my absolute favourite. Almost to good to share the recipe!

I always take this with me on camping holidays and festivals. I  often just make it at home for a treat. Made using an > Ugg food mix < its quick and easy. Not cheap due to the mix itself but the chocolate and fruit bread lasts me for ages as I freeze most in sections .

I struggle to find gluten and grain free bread products that are also yeast free, this bread works brilliantly.

 

IMG_7713

Recipe

Ugg foods chia seed and nut bread mix

6 eggs – yolks and whites seperated

4 tbsp melted butter or melted coconut oil

1/2 pint ( 1 1/2 cups ) almond milk or regular milk

2 tbsp vanilla essence

1/2 cup of dark chocolate chips ( I used Sainsbury’s Taste the difference Belgian choc chips)

4 tbsp maple syrup

1 cup of cherries and raisins  ( I always use Sainsbury’s dried Morello cherries ) or any dried fruit

you could use just 1/2 cup of dried fruit if you wanted to keep the sugar content low

Method

pre heat the oven 160c fan

mix all the wet ingredients together (beaten egg yolks , milk, vanilla essence and maple syrup)

IMG_7705

beat the egg whites

Put the dry mix in a bowl

add the wet ingredients and the melted butter or coconut oil

stir well and add the dried fruit and chocolate chips

IMG_7706

stir again and add the stiff egg whites

 

IMG_7707

once blended

IMG_7708

spoon into your chosen tins

I use a small loaf and a ring tin which I greased well

IMG_7709

bake the loaf or loaves for 35mins for small loaf tin and ring tin but slightly longer for a large loaf tin

IMG_7713

 

this loaf can be eaten as soon as it is cold

or cut up or frozen whole. I freeze in sections.

The bread should be mildly sweet and the bread should be light and springy.

Perfect on its on or topped with your favourite preserve

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Happy Baking!

click here for UGG Foods products 

One thought on “Grain free chocolate and fruit bread

Leave a Reply

