Silly Yak ready to roll gluten free pastry review

Today I decided to put Silly Yak pastry to the test.

IMG_9788

I started with a favourite, something I haven’t made for a while ,sausage rolls. The chilled pastry proved easy to use. I gave the surface a dusting of gluten free flour and unpacked the silly yak ready to roll pastry. I decided to use cling film on the pastry to stop it sticking

IMG_9790

The pastry rolled out easily, I then used some delicious Black Farmer sausages for the filling. I just opened up one end of the sausage and squeezed out the sausage meat on to the pastry.

IMG_9795

I sealed the pastry together with water and cut to size, Then I brushed the sausage rolls with beaten egg and popped in a pre heated hot oven 200c for 25mins.

IMG_9798

I was pleased with the results. The appearance was good and the taste delicious.

IMG_9804

The pastry was perfect.

With the remainder of the ready to roll pastry I decided to make a Tarte Tatin something I’ve only made once before. I used a Mary Berry recipe replacing refined sugar with coconut sugar and was very pleased with the result.

IMG_9808

Firstly I made the sticky sauce the added the sliced apple and finally the pastry top.

IMG_9810

Once again the Tarte Tatin went in the hot oven for 25mins

IMG_9816Again perfect pastry, with very little effort on my part and perfect dessert.

IMG_9823Once turned over you could see the fabulous sticky sauce and the perfectly cooked apples. Will now add this to my list of puddings.

IMG_9818

The only disappointment for me is that the pastry is not made using butter. I assume to make the pastry vegetarian, margarine is used. This is something I hate. really not a healthy choice. Maybe Silly Yak would consider making an all butter version too? I know I and many others would be keen to buy it. Sadly I am not likely to buy this version again even though it has made fantastic pastry.

The pastry is available from Tesco stores here is the list  > Tesco stockists or Tesco online £1.75 for 400g

find it in the chilled section

I would be interested to know your thoughts too, as I’m sure would Silly Yak

IMG_9813

Follow them on Facebook Silly yak and on Twitter @sillyyakfoods

or leave a message below

IMG_9800

I’m off to make a gluten free Chicken pie and apple turnovers using more of the Silly Yak pastry, second post to follow

Happy baking!

click here for Silly yak review part 2 

Leave a Reply

