Silly Yak gluten free pastry part 2

We never normally have gluten free pies for dinner, but as I had a second box of Silly Yak ready to roll gluten free pastry I thought I would make a chicken pie. The nice thing about this pastry is the end result is rather like a rough puff pastry so it lends itself to lots of different bakes both savoury and sweet. Although not made with butter ( personally I think this is a great shame ) but made with margarine a far less healthy choice, it does have a good ‘ buttery’ taste.

IMG_9788

I used the pastry straight from the fridge while it was still nice and cold and rolled out and cut a circle for the topping to my chicken pie. My filling consisted of chicken breasts diced, courgette finely chopped, finely sliced rashers of streaky bacon and plenty of double cream and seasoning including some thyme.  I cooked this in a frying pan before putting in the oven proof dish. I have to avoid usual filling ingredients like mushrooms onions and garlic as I am intolerant to them. I find the pie still tastes delicious.

IMG_9844

 

I struggled to find a dish small enough for two people as all my bakeware is for 4/6 or more. Now the family have all moved out I need to buy myself a pie dish for two!

IMG_9827

The pie was popped into a hot pre heated oven for 25mins. It was a huge success with Mr S , and I’m sure I will use the pastry again to make a big family pie when everyone is back home for a meal.

IMG_9838

With the remaining pastry I cooked down some apples and cut 4 squares from the remaining pastry and made apple turnovers. I brushed beaten egg on the outside and sprinkled a little sugar on top.

IMG_9846

Again these were far more successful than I expected, delicious cold or warm

 

IMG_9862

The pastry was sent to me by Silly Yak to test out and I feel that I gave it a fair try with both savoury and sweet bakes. If you are looking for an easy gluten free pastry that you can rely on this is your product. My only disappointment as I’ve said before is that it is not as yet made with butter. So Silly Yak if you read this review please consider maybe making a second product for us butter lovers. I’m sure it would be very popular.

If you try this ready to roll pastry and enjoy this product why not mention it to your local stores like Waitrose, Sainsburys, Ocado and Morrisons. It would be great to have more suppliers and make it more available.

 

IMG_9868Today I heated up some of the sausage rolls I made yesterday and they were delicious .

Silly yak

follow on twitter @SillyYakfoods

Facebook SillyYakFoods

The Silly Yak pastry is crossed grain symbol certified

 

One thought on “Silly Yak gluten free pastry part 2

  1. Pingback: Silly Yak ready to roll gluten free pastry review | Fabulously Free From

Leave a Reply

