Review of Flaxseed buns from Hemsley & Hemsleys new book

Today I had a go at making a recipe from Hemsley and Hemsley’s new book Good and Simple.  The flaxseed buns really intrigued me , an unusual list of ingredients but all things I can eat. Not being able to tolerate regular gluten free buns and trying to avoid grains these looked perfect for me.

IMG_0230

I mixed the dry ingredients together then added the beaten eggs etc. Before my eyes I could see the mixture change after 5mins it had thickened up and was ready to mould into buns.

IMG_0220

IMG_0222

I baked them for 20mins in a fan oven and they came out looking very like little bread rolls. I have to admit I had my doubts about these. But I was very pleasantly surprised . After cooling I cut one in half and filled it with salad and grated cheese.

IMG_0225

If I had a blind fold on, I don’t think I would have known that this was made from flaxseeds! Good bread like texture and not crumbly something that is often hard to find with gluten free bread.

IMG_0227

IMG_0241

I will freeze the majority of these ready sliced and they will be perfect for a quick lunch.

definitely worth giving them ago especially if like me you are intolerant to gluten and yeast and avoid grains.

Flaxseeds are not a cheap ingredient ,but if you are grain free then I feel its worth spending the money .

IMG_0237

follow on twitter here @hemsleyhemsley 

IMG_0235

website hemsleyandhemsley.com

Natures health box sells flaxseeds for £3.19 for 200g or £4.99 for 425g

Holland and Barrett  425g are £5.99 offer buy one get one half price

IMG_0260

 

5 thoughts on “Review of Flaxseed buns from Hemsley & Hemsleys new book

  1. For a non cook this recipe is awesome. I tried this yesterday with flaxseed meal already ground and they turned out great and so simple, little lighter in colour and texture but was very surprised at the taste, as I am extremely fussy. Other than freezing, how long would you keep them in a sealed container and either in cupboard or fridge?

Leave a Reply

