Gluten free Bagels

I love all of Isabel’s free from mixes My  favourites are the Dough balls and the Pizza mix. Both popular with my gluten eating family too.

Today I thought I would have another go at Bagels using the Pizza mix. I’ve made these a few times before but knew they should have risen more in size than they had done.

img_3315

These latest yeast free gluten free Bagels are the best by far! This time I used 3 medium size eggs , rather than two eggs. I’m not sure if that made a difference. I also kneaded the bread dough for much longer. When it came to adding the bagels to boiling water , I left them in the boiling water for three minutes bubbling away ( I flipped them over once during this time ). I saw them double in size .

img_3303

I finally sat them on a tea towel to dry then popped them on a greased baking tray at fan 160c for 25mins. Some I sprinkled with sesame seeds some I left plain.

I was astounded at the difference from my  previous attempts. They were a great size, they did collapse a little when cooling but far superior to previous attempts.

img_3307

They freeze well and are best refreshed in the microwave

Click here for the recipe from Isabel’s free from

I have also tried Isabel’s Tea cakes made in a very similar way. Totally delicious. Tea cake recipe

Isabel’s recipe for Bagels

200g Isabels pizza mix

2 eggs , I used 3 medium eggs

2 tbsp Veg oil , I used olive oil as a healthier choice

50ml water

gluten free baking powder

1 tsp sugar

160c fan oven

img_3313

Isabel’s mixes available from Morrisons and Asda, online at Ocado or isabelfreefrom.co.uk

What will you fill your Bagel with ?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

