Gluten free Chocolate Profiteroles

Tomorrow is pastry week on The Great British Bake off so I thought I would have a go at making a gluten free version of Choux Pastry and make chocolate profiteroles.

Recipe-

150g water

60g unsalted butter

75g GF plain flour ( I used Doves farm )

2 large eggs

gluten free dark chocolate or milk chocolate if you prefer.

optional tsp honey (to add to chocolate)

extra thick double cream.

greased baking tray

Image

I started with 60g unsalted butter and 150ml water. I heated these until the butter melted and the water and butter mix started to boil.

Image

I took the pan off the heat and added the 75g of gluten free plain flour ( I used Doves farm ). This needs to be stirred vigorously until it forms a soft ball. To make life easier pop mixture into a food mixer,

Image

Leave to cool before gradually adding 2 beaten eggs. A great deal of elbow work is now needed to form a smooth paste, don’t give up! hard work but it will be worth it.

Image

Spoon mixture onto a buttered baking tray. I also sprinkled a little water on to the tray too. which is supposed to help producing a small amount of steam.

Image

I used a pastry brush to egg wash the top of the choux buns. I made 9 large choux buns.

The tray goes in a pre heated oven 220c for 10mins then I turned the heat down to 190c for the final 20mins until golden brown.

Image

I cooled the choux buns on a wire rack ready to fill . The plain profiteroles can be stored in an airtight container once cooled to use later.

Image

I used some gluten free chocolate with 1 tsp of honey and cream to make the chocolate sauce.

I melted the 85g bar of chocolate then added 2tbs of thick double cream and 1tsp of honey.

If you are using very dark chocolate I just melt the chocolate and drizzle over the profiteroles. Perfect if you are trying to have less sugar in your diet.

Once the choux buns were completely cooled I made a hole in each one and piped in extra thick double cream. If you don’t have a piping bag, slice profiteroles in half and fill with cream.

Image

Image

Then it was time to add the chocolate sauce.

Image

Image

I always thought being gluten free would mean I could never have treats like this again. I’m so glad I was wrong.

The choux pastry was more tricky than some other pastries but not impossible.

Top tip –

I have started using my food processor to mix my profiteroles, which works very well and saves your energy!

Happy Baking!

12 thoughts on “Gluten free Chocolate Profiteroles

  1. I always thought that GF choux pastry would be tricky to make, but you make it sound so easy! I’ll definitely be trying these one weekend very soon! Keep up the good work, Helen! I’m loving your GBBO inspired blog posts. 🙂

  2. Pingback: gluten free Gougères , bite size savoury choux buns | Fabulously Free From

  3. I’ve always been a bit too scared to make choux pastry for some reason but since going GF I’ve really missed these kind of indulgences as a special treat. I am happy to say that I just made these and they were absolutely amazing! So simple to make using a food processor to mix in the egg, and they came out perfect. I was worried about the texture because GF flour is never quite the same but you honestly couldn’t tell they were GF at all (I used Doves Farm too). Thank you for allowing me to enjoy one of my favourite pre GF treats again 🙂

  4. Pingback: Gluten free Patisserie for Bake Off | Fabulously Free From

  5. These are brilliant, and taste just like the real thing. It took me a few attempts to get them right, but finally managed it. Thank you very much for the recipe. It’s so easy to do and not many ingredients unlike some other recipes which are hard to do.

Leave a comment