Gluten free banana and chocolate chip muffins

Finding myself with an entire bunch of over ripe bananas I decided to find a new recipe to use some of the up. This recipe from Sugarfreemom caught my eye. A recipe for refined sugar free muffins perfect!

Here is the link to the recipe Banana Bread Muffins 

 

IMG_6054

Firstly I put all the wet ingredients in a bowl

I used-

3 ripe bananas

2 large free range eggs

1/2 cup milk ( I used almond milk )

1/2 cup apple sauce homemade

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tbsp honey

I pre heated the oven to 170c fan

I used a hand blender to mix and mash all the wet ingredients together.

 

IMG_6043

 

IMG_6045

In a separate bowl I put

1 tbsp ground flaxseed

2 cups of gluten free SR flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

 

IMG_6044

I stirred the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and added 1/4 cup water

the mixture starts to react to the bicarb and baking powder and expands

to this mixture I quickly added 1/2 cup of gluten free dark chocolate chips

 

IMG_6046

 

IMG_6047

I spooned the mixture into 11 large muffin cases which I had greased well

 

IMG_6048

These went into the oven for 25 mins

They came out golden brown and once cooled came easily out of the muffin trays

 

IMG_6049

I was very impressed with the texture of these muffins. Not heavy, but airy with a bouncy springy texture

these I would say are low sweetness which I prefer and the dark chocolate drops melted inside do help with the sweetness. You could add more honey or stevia as in the original recipe.

 

IMG_6050

Well worth giving these a try, I was very impressed

I think they would be delicious with a hot chocolate for a treat or make a good breakfast alternative.

Happy Baking!

IMG_6052

 

4 thoughts on “Gluten free banana and chocolate chip muffins

  1. Pingback: Review of Phil Vickery’s recipe for Banana split muffins | Fabulously Free From

Leave a comment