Gooey grain free chocolate pudding

I love to be inspired by grain free recipes online. Yesterday I was looking for a moist chocolate pudding and came across a Recipe from homemadehealthyhappy.com for self saucing chocolate pudding. <-click here for Recipe I used this as inspiration and changed things slightly.

>Homemade Healthy Happy < has lots more grain free and gluten free recipes on the website. Do go and have a look!

 

My version uses half ground hazelnuts and half ground almonds. I also used processed dates instead of raw honey in the pudding mix.

 

IMG_6210

 

Recipe

serves 6-8 generous portions

 

250g a mix of ground almonds and ground hazelnuts

40g cacao powder

50g butter melted you could also use melted virgin coconut oil ( I like Lucy bee oil )

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

100g dark chocolate drops ( I used sainsburys gluten free taste the difference dark chocolate drops )

100g  pitted medjool dates

approx 150ml boiling water – to soak dates

3 large Eggs

 

Sauce-

30g cacao powder

60g raw honey

300ml boiling water

I pre heated oven 165c

I put the pitted dates into a jug and poured on 150ml of boiling water, I left these to soak for about 10 minutes

I weighed out 250g of a mix of ground almonds and ground hazelnuts , about half and half. I ground the hazelnuts myself using my food processor until they resembled flour.

I added the dates and approximately 100ml of the soaking water into my food processor and blended until smooth and like a sauce.

 

IMG_6193

To the dry ingredients I added the processed date sauce, beaten eggs and melted butter and mixed well together.

IMG_6191

 

IMG_6194

 

IMG_6195

I had pre greased a 2 L rectangle ceramic ovenproof container and spooned the mixture in and smoothed flat, to this I sprinkled the chocolate drops evenly over the surface and pressed down slightly.

IMG_6197

 

IMG_6198

In the food processer I added 30g cacao powder and 300ml boiling water and 60g raw honey. I mixed these together for a few seconds.

This is then poured gently on to the surface of the pudding, looks weird but it works!

 

IMG_6200

I baked the pudding in a 165c oven for 50mins, My tip would be to take a look after 40 minutes I left mine a little to long. It should still have a little sauce on top I think.

 

IMG_6202

It is best to serve the pudding straight from the oven , I served mine with a big dollop of clotted cream.

 

IMG_6205

It can be warmed for a short time in the microwave too.

Delicious with ice cream or cream

 

IMG_6207

Hope you enjoy this indulgent chocolatey pudding as much as I did.

Happy baking!

 

6 thoughts on “Gooey grain free chocolate pudding

  1. Omg that looks good!!!! What could be better than a gluten free chocolate pudding? One that’s nowhere near as calorie-laden as a normal one, that’s what!! Question for you though – if I can’t afford cacao powder, can I use normal cocoa powder? And can I use normal honey in place of raw honey?

  2. Oh yummy yummy! That looks amazing! It reminds me of the pudding my granny used to make we called chocolate saucy pud. Keep meaning to resurrect it and make it suitable for us to eat…although not at the moment since I can’t have chocolate 😦

  3. Pingback: Gluten free and grain free dessert ideas for this weeks Bake Off | Fabulously Free From

Leave a comment